Mordhau

Experimental Realism Mod

4 4
  • 11 Sep
 .FreaK.

Hello guys, before I start I have to say that I have no actual experience in modding and that everything I bring in this thread is just an idea I had for a long time. Maybe some of you might find this interesting and could imagine bringing it to the game as a mod.
Also notice that english in not my mother language and I appologize for my grammar. And my drawing skills...

The realism mode would contain the following things:

1. Damage based on hit angle.

sfgsdgsdf.jpg

The ammount of kinetic energy and damage you will deal to your opponent will be dependant on the hit angle. Means there will be critical strikes (sweet spots) where you might deal severe damage to your opponent and drain more stamina if they manage to parry it.
Is the angle bad, the damage will be reduced and might be completely negated. Weaker hits will barely cost any stamina to parry.
Keep in mind this will automatically nerf drags and accels as the damage output will be way too low. Riposts and Chambers, on the other hand, will benefit drags and accels.

2. Momentum based damage.
Just as you do bonus damage while moving on a horse, this mod will let you use the momentum from your movement on foot aswell. Means striking while standing still does overall less damage than moving towards your strike direction . The movement of your enemy will also effect the damage output of your strike. (Stabbing an enemy who is running up to you will punish him)
The bonus damage will be seen as a critical strike as i explained in "1.".

move strike.jpg

3. Weapon types and armor rework.
Killing a knight in plate armor with a few slashes of sword is not what you can call realism, so this needs a rework.
My idea to fix this would be to add movement restrictions for people in heavy armor while adding a bonus for light armored folks.