Mordhau

Spears (not Britney)

8 3
  • 11 May
 Hawba

Hi,

to me it feels that spears are a bit to easy to use. They kinda act like a ginormous longsword; a ginosword. They absolutely should have the range advantage over other weapons, and should be the ideal poker for defending/pushing choke points, but they should suffer in close range situations. I am most annoyed that they do not have an "ineffective zone". To me it feels that if I face-hug a spear user I should be able to win the 1v1 quickly, but they tend to swiss-cheeze me about half the time (yes, I'm a noob). In tight spaces, like tunnels or indoors, it would make sense to me that the butt of the spear would also hit surroundings and limit the spear use which would then open the player to be shish-kebabed by shorter weapons, by the short spear for example. Of course all of this is just my opinion :)

The "ineffective zone" could also be applied to other weapons such a the Zweihander; unless you switch to alternative grip.

529 278

Agreed, I hate getting insta stabbed by a spear guy when I'm right in his face, and I'm tired of stabbing my horse in the head XD Spears should have to swing when in close range, or just do shaft damage past a certain range.

2 0

Completely agree, the spear is incredibly easy to use and having an effective range on them would up the skill requirements considerably. When going against a spear with a shorter weapon like the war axe or messer is pretty difficult and getting up close to them doesn’t increase your chances of winning the fight because it feels like the closer you’re to them the quicker they can stab you.

Knight 108 140

Then again, it is incredibly easy to get past the spear tip and run to a close range as well. If spears should not be able to stab at short range, then moving in should be made harder. Also, same logic should apply to zweihanders, halberds and most long weapons. They all require quite a bit of distance for optimal use.