Mordhau

Fix Blunt Damage Head Gore

Knight 24 138

There are a lot of visual issues with head gore from blunt weapon damage.

1. The gore model placed on the neck is red mush with a femur coming out of it.
    Untitled.png

2. If the blunt weapon only causes a partial dismemberment and the head becomes detached, the lower half of the neck model shows a clean cut while the gore model on the upper half of the severed neck has that weird ham bone in it.
    Untitled 2.png

3. If the head is destroyed by a blunt weapon, the head vaporizes and a few tiny, red nuggets spawn in its place
    Untitled 3.png

This, in my opinion, looks terrible. I'd have rather seen a broken neck and some crushed metal bump map decal on the helmet or some other alternative. If there is no helmet, there should maybe be some crushed head model or some other localized wounds on the head. I'm no game designer so I don't know exactly what's feasible, but I think nearly anything would look better than my magic hammer turning someone's head into chicken nuggets.

4 12

This is the big truth

Duke 666 994
  • 10 Jan
 Stumpy

Internetgoodboy for president

Knight 3129 6174
  • 11 Jan
 Bodkin

I find the warhammer blunt gore to be really satisfying with the sound and tore up flesh, though Ive never looked as closely as you have.

I think head explosions with the heavier blunt weapons are a bit memey, especially with how little there is left of the head since it only makes like 5 chunks.

Knight 34 25

Agreed, I never liked the head explosions in chiv and I was happy they weren't in mord. Its way more brutal without the head explosion anyways

Knight 3129 6174
  • 11 Jan
 Bodkin

Instead of an explosion, the heavy weapons should just make a shitload of chunks and blood splash tbh, or at least make more blood and chunks if the explosions are going to stay.

Also please add partial decaps to arrows

Baron 1547 2038